West Zone square off against South Zone in the Duleep Trophy 2022 final on September 21, Thursday, at SNR College Cricket Stadium in Coimbatore from 9:30 AM Indian Standard Time (IST). 

West Zone beat Central Zone by 279 runs in the first semi-final of the ongoing Duleep Trophy. Kumara Kartikeya picked a five-wicket-haul in the first innings for the Central Zone as the West Zone could only manage 257 runs in the first innings. The Karan Sharma-led Central Zone were then dismissed for just 128 as Jaydev Unadkat and Tanush Kotian picked three wickets each.

Prithvi Shaw, who scored 60 in the first innings followed it up by smashing 142 in the second inning for the West Zone. Chasing 501 runs to win, Central Zone were skittled out for just 221 in their second innings.

Meanwhile, South Zone hammered North Zone by 645 runs in the second semi-final in Salem. Centuries from Rohan Kunnummal, Hanuma Vihari, and Ricky Bhui helped South Zone post a mammoth total of 630 in the first innings. In reply, North Zone were bowled out 207 in their first innings. South Zone added another 316 runs to their lead and set a massive target of 740 runs in the second innings. North Zone were then bundled out for just 94 in their chase as South Zone completed a comprehensive win.

West Zone vs South Zone Duleep Trophy 2022 odds

Parimatch odds: West Zone: 1.62, South Zone: 2.15

Betwinner odds: West Zone: 1.66, South Zone: 2.195

10Cric odds: West Zone: 1.61, South Zone: 2.08

Betway odds: West Zone: 1.61, South Zone: 2.10

Note: Odds are subject to change. Please visit betting sites to check and confirm the latest odds.

West Zone vs South Zone head-to-head

West Zone have won three and drawn one of their last five games against South Zone in the Duleep Trophy. 

The last match between West Zone and South Zone ended in a draw with South Zone winning based on their first innings lead.

West Zone vs South Zone Duleep Trophy 2022 squads

West Zone: Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Prithvi Shaw, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shreyas Iyer, Hardik Tamore (wicketkeeper), Shams Mulani, Tanush Kotian, Shardul Thakur, Rahul Tripathi, Satyajeet Bachhav, Het Patel, Chintan Gaja, Jaydev Unadkat, Chirag Jani, Atit Sheth.

South Zone: Hanuma Vihari (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Rohan Kunnummal, Manish Pandey, Devdutt Paddikal, Baba Inderjith, Eknath Kerkar (wicketkeeper), Ricky Bhui, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Krishnappa Gowtham, Basil Thampi, Ravi Teja, Cheepurapalli Stephen, Tanay Thyagarajan, Lakshye Garg.

West Zone vs South Zone Duleep Trophy 2022 probable playing XI

West Zone: Prithvi Shaw, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Rahul Tripathi, Armaan Jaffer, Het Patel (wicketkeeper), Shams Mulani, Tanush Kotian, Jaydev Undakat, Chintan Gaja, Atit Seth.

South Zone: Rohan Kunnummal, Mayank Agarwal, Hanuma Vihari (captain), Baba Inderjith, Manish Pandey, Ricky Bhui (wicketkeeper), Krishnappa Gowtham, Ravi Teja, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Basil Thampi, Tanay Thyagarajan.


West Zone vs South Zone combined fantasy XI

Prithvi Shaw, Rohan Kunnummal, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari (captain), Baba Inderjith, Ricky Bhui (wicketkeeper), Shams Mulani, Tanush Kotian, Chintan Gaja, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Basil Thampi.

West Zone top picks vs South Zone top picks Duleep Trophy 2022

Prithvi Shaw: The right-handed batter top scored for West Zone in their previous game. Shaw scored 60 runs in the first innings and followed it by 140-ball 142 in the second innings helping West Zone post a match-winning total. Shaw has scored 315 runs in the Duleep Trophy 2022 at an average of 105.00. The 22-year-old batter will once again be expected to give his side a strong start.

Chintan Gaja: The medium pacer has picked eight wickets in two games in the ongoing Duleep trophy at a strike rate of 26.87. Gaja has scalped 119 wickets in 33 First Class matches and has been an integral part of the Gujarat side in Ranji Trophy. The 27-year-old has picked his wickets at an average of 22.57 and a strike rate of 49.6.

South Zone top picks vs West Zone Duleep Trophy 2022

Rohan Kunnummal: The all-rounder scored 220 runs in the game for South Zone and provided his team with good starts in both innings. In just five FC matches, Kunnummal has scored 645 runs at an average of 107.5. The 24-year-old has smashed four centuries in FC cricket and has a top score of 143. The young batter from Kerala will once again open the innings alongside Mayank Agarwal in the finals.

Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore: The left-arm spinner picked 10 wickets in the last game against North Zone and was single-handedly responsible for South Zone’s dominating performance with the ball. Sai Kishore has picked 69 wickets in his First-Class career at an average of 24.60. With the bat, the 25-year-old averages 16.33 and has scored handy runs for Tamil Nadu in the Ranji Trophy. 

West Zone vs South Zone Duleep Trophy 2022 prediction 

West Zone have historically done well against South Zone and will have the edge going into the final. 

On the other hand, South Zone have a bunch of talented players who will put up a tough fight against West Zone. South Zone also have a stronger bowling attack which will make it difficult for West Zone to score runs freely.

West Zone vs South Zone Duleep Trophy 2022 playing conditions and weather report

Maximum Temperature: 33°C

Precipitation: 0%

Humidity: 72%

Wind: 8 km/h

Check live cricket scores here.