South Africa cricket team’s white-ball captain Temba Bavuma has been ruled out of the England tour in July due to an elbow injury. The 32-year-old sustained the blow during the recent T20Is in India. He is due to recover in eight weeks.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) have announced that Keshav Maharaj will be captaining the ODI team whereas David Miller will lead the T20I team.

The Proteas will be playing three Tests, three T20Is and three ODIs against England starting from July 19, 2022. South Africa will also be playing Ireland in two T20Is in Bristol before the Test series ends on September 12, 2022.

Kagiso Rabada rested for ODIs, Rilee Rossouw recalled for T20Is

Pacer Kagiso Rabada has been rested for the ODIs as part of his workload management programme. The 27-year-old has picked up 243 wickets in Tests and 51 wickets in T20Is.

Southpaw batter Rilee Rossouw also makes a comeback to the T20 international squad after six years. This comes on the back of Rossouw’s impressive performances in the ongoing T20 Blast in England.

South Africa have issued a maiden T20I call-up to 21-year-old Gerald Coetzee. The right-arm pacer has been impressive in List A and FC cricket so far.

Test Squad: Dean Elgar (captain), Sarel Erwee, Keegan Petersen, Ryan Rickelton, Aiden Markram, Rassie van der Dussen, Khaya Zondo, Kyle Verreynne, Duanne Olivier, Kagiso Rabada, Marco Jansen, Simon Harmer, Lutho Sipamla, Keshav Maharaj, Glenton Stuurman, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje.

ODI Squad: Keshav Maharaj (captain), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, Lungi Ngidi, Kyle Verreynne, David Miller, Rassie van der Dussen, Khaya Zondo, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Marco Jansen, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lizaad Williams.

T20I squad: David Miller (captain), Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Lungi Ngidi, Rilee Rossouw, Tristan Stubbs, Rassie van der Dussen, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi.